Galakrond’s Awakening, Hearthstone’s Year of the Dragon’s final solo adventure, now has an official release date.

Blizzard revealed the final solo adventure will be Galakrond’s Awakening. This remarkable adventure has been in the works for a long time, starting with The Dalaran Heist in May 2019. The League of Explorers and the League of E.V.I.L. will square off against each other for perhaps the last time and Hearthstone players can ultimately decide the universe’s eternal fate.

In 2019, the two gangs battled each other through several expansions and are naturally headed towards an epic conclusion in the icy valleys of Dragonblight. The masterplan of Arch-Villain Rafaam seeks to reawaken Galakrond, the progenitor dragon, and decimate the world as we know it. Will the League of Explorers be able to thwart Rafaam’s plan?

Check out the impressive production of Arch-Villain Rafaam in the cinematic trailer below:

Hearthstone players will have to deal with the direct consequences of the Awakening of Galakrond in this concluding chapter of the game. There are two narratives available and both can be played by players to reach two alternative endings.

Galakrond’s Awakening is going to return to the linear adventure format. This means players will advance through the narrative by defeating specific bosses in order. There are four chapters with three encounters in each plot, for a total of 24 exclusive battles to enjoy. The player takes over one of the heroes or villains identified throughout the Dragon Year and in each battle, is given a random deck to compete with. The very first E.V.I.L. chapter will be free for all players, but it will be necessary to purchase every chapter after that when they are released. Chapters can be purchased for $6.99 or $700 gold, this will include both the E.V.I.L and Explorers path of the narrative.

Galakronds Awakening Hearthstones Year Of The Dragons
Galakronds Awakening Hearthstones Year Of The Dragons

Heroic mode enables players to build their decks as they see fit while also rewarding card backs upon completing the two stories. The four chapters will unlock on a weekly basis, having the following release dates:

  • Chapter 1: January 21
  • Chapter 2: January 28
  • Chapter 3: February 4
  • Chapter 4: February 11


We equally see collectible card bonuses make a return to the game with Hearthstone’s Galakrond’s Awakening. A total of 35 cards will be unlocked throughout the adventure by clearing up encounters. Each chapter will have to unlock eight cards. As of now, only four cards are known of which players will unlock on their journey, and you can inspect them below.

Hearthstone Galakronds Awakening Cards
Hearthstone Galakronds Awakening Cards

On January 21, Chapter one of Hearthstone Galakrond’s Awakening will be publicly released. Chapter two is going to follow on January 28, a week later. On February 4, the third chapter will be released and on February 11, the final chapter will be released.